Symbols of the world's religions



Meher Baba

There are four kinds of Samadhis:

(1) Ordinary sound sleep (unconscious Samadhi);
(2) Yoga Samadhi;
(3) Nirvikalpa Samadhi; and
(4) Sahaj Samadhi.

1. This is quite ordinary, and every ordinary human being experiences it, when asleep.

2. This Samadhi is enjoyed by ordinary yogis by awakening the "kundalini" through pranayam, concentration, etc.

3. This Samadhi is real, and is enjoyed by a person in the seventh plane. It is the state of perfect forgetfulness and realization of Truth.

4. This also is real and can be enjoyed only by God-realized persons both during the process of "coming down" for regaining the consciousness of the world, and after regaining gross and subtle consciousness.

QUESTIONS MEHER BABA ANSWERED, Pt. 1, p. 59, ed. K. K. Ramakrishnan
1975 © Avatar Meher Baba Perpetual Public Charitable Trust


 Samadhi | Anthology | Eternal Beloved | Avatar Meher Baba | HeartMind | Search